Arizona Diamondbacks Stats


Arizona Diamondbacks Insiders

Arena: Chase Field
Manager: Torey Lovullo

2022-2023 TEAM LEADERS

Arizona Diamondbacks

Arizona Diamondbacks Summary

The Arizona Diamondbacks are a professional baseball team based out of Phoenix, Arizona. They play in the National West division in Major League Baseball. The Diamondbacks are one of the most recent expansion teams to join the league as they began to play in 1998. 

Their color scheme consists of red, black, white, teal, and sonoran sand. They have played at Chase Field since 1998. 

Arizona started off their existence with a bang as they won their first division title in 1999, and have won four more since. The Diamondbacks won their first and only National League Pennant and World Series Title in 2001. 

Arizona Diamondbacks Standings

Arizona Diamondbacks Betting Trends

Arizona Diamondbacks History 

Arizona played their first regular-season game in their history on March 31st, 1998. Chase Field had a sellout with over 50,100 fans in attendance. Despite losing to Colorado, the people of Arizona were ecstatic to finally have a Major League team. 

It typically takes expansion teams many years to build a winner. However, Arizona defied that logic by making their first postseason appearance just one year after joining the league. They clinched the NL West with a 100-win season in 1999. 

The Diamondbacks ended up losing to the Mets in the division series. 

After missing the playoffs in 2000, Arizona bounced back in incredible fashion in 2001 by not only winning the division in 2001 but going on to upset the New York Yankees in the World Series to capture their first championship. 

Since 2001, Arizona has captured three more division titles in 2002, 2007, and 2011. They also earned a Wild Card berth in 2017. 

2022 Key Stats

The Diamondbacks finished the 2021 season tied with the Baltimore Orioles for the worst record in the league. They are undeniably in the midst of a rebuilding stage. However, they have a few pieces worth mentioning. 

Zac Gallen is a star pitcher who was hampered by injuries last season. Merrill Kelly, Taylor Widener, and Luke Weaver are all pitchers who flashed signs of potential as well. This is far from a top-tier pitching staff, but they could surprise some people this upcoming season. 

They recently signed star closer Mark Melancon to strengthen the bullpen. He was excellent in San Diego last year and will be a quality arm who can help lead an otherwise lackluster Arizona bullpen. 

Offensively, Ketel Marte leads an otherwise lowly offense. Marte is a former all-star who, despite some inconsistencies and injuries last year, still possesses plenty of talent. 

The Diamondbacks are expected to be near the bottom of the division once again in 2022 as they continue to attempt to build a winner down the road.  

Arizona Diamondbacks World Series Victories

The one and only World Series appearance for the Diamondbacks ended in an upset victory. 

The 2001 World Series was one of the most riveting World Series of all time. The Yankees were heavily favored to win their fourth consecutive championship over a Diamondbacks team that was only in their fourth year of existence. But Arizona gave them more trouble than anticipated and forced a Game 7. 

New York seemed destined for the win leading 2-1 in the bottom of the ninth with Hall of Fame closer Mariano Rivera on the mound. However, following a couple of base hits and the tying run-scoring, Luis Gonzalez stepped up to the plate with the bases loaded and the winning run 90 feet away.  

Gonzalez then lofted an 0-1 delivery into shallow center field for the game-winning hit. The Arizona Diamondbacks had pulled off the upset and won their first World Series Title. 

Important Team Events

The 1999 division championship was extraordinary since Arizona quickly developed a winning team. Their rapid success helped build the fan base and excite people to watch the team. 

The Diamondbacks 2001 World Series was extraordinary given that they defeated the Yankees in a seven-game series. It also ended New York’s reign of dominance, and the Yankees have only won one World Series since. 

The duo of Randy Johnson and Curt Schilling may be one of the best starting pitching duos of all-time. These two pitchers helped put the Diamondbacks on the map and garner national attention. 

The Best Diamondbacks Players

Randy Johnson is the greatest Diamondback off all-time. 

The Big Unit finished his Arizona career with a 118-62 record to go along with a 2.83 ERA and over 2,000 strikeouts. He was vital in helping the team win the 2001 Fall Classic, as he finished the season with a 21-6 record and 2.49 ERA with 372 strikeouts. 

Curt Schilling spent just four seasons in Arizona, but he made them count. He and Johnson formed one of the best 1-2 punches in baseball. The right-hander left the Diamondbacks with a 58-28 record and a 3.14 ERA. 

Paul Goldschmidt spent 2011-2018 as a member of the Diamondbacks. The slugging first baseman established a reputation as a perennial all-star caliber first baseman who could hit for power and average while chipping in some occasional speed on the basepaths. 

Goldschmidt left Arizona in 2018, but he finished his Diamondback career with a .297/.398/.532 slash line and over 200 home runs. Additionally, he was a fan favorite in Arizona during his time. 

Top Coaches 

Buck Showalter was the first manager in Diamondbacks history. He led the team from 1998-2000 and finished with a .514 winning percentage to go along with one postseason appearance. 

Bob Brenly is the owner of the best winning percentage in Diamondbacks managerial history with a mark of .536. Additionally, he led Arizona to their World Series championship in 2001. Brenly is widely regarded as the best manager in the brief history of the Diamondbacks.

Diamondbacks Recent Trend

Next Game


Team Stats

Frequently Asked Questions

Insiders Betting Digest



Join Us And Start Winning!