Baltimore Orioles Stats


Baltimore Orioles Insiders

Stadium: Oriole Park at Camden Yards
Manager: Brandon Hyde

2021-2022 TEAM LEADERS

Baltimore Orioles

Baltimore Orioles Summary 

The Baltimore Orioles were a dominant team in the American League of Major League Baseball during the late ’60s until the early ’80s. During these years, the Orioles would win the bulk of their AL Pennants and all of their World Series titles.

With 2016 being the last time the Orioles made the postseason, the Orioles will be looking to make changes for the 2022 season. With this 2022 season being the 30th anniversary of the Orioles moving to Camden Yards, they will want to make this a season to celebrate.

Since their last appearance in the postseason in 2016, the Orioles haven’t been above .500 in the W/L department. 2017 was their best season since 2016 when the Orioles would go 75-87 for the season. Their worst season in that stretch was in 2018, where they would go 47-115. Their 2018 performance was the worse in team history since 1939.

Baltimore Orioles History 

The Baltimore Orioles have been around since 1901. But they weren’t always known as the Baltimore Orioles. In 1901, the Baltimore Orioles were known as the Milwaukee Brewers. The team would move to St. Louis and be renamed the St. Louis Browns one year later. In 1954, the St. Louis Browns would move to Baltimore and be renamed the Baltimore Orioles.

Since 1954, the Orioles have played in two different stadiums in Baltimore. They started in Memorial Stadium, which they shared with the NFL team Baltimore Colts, and would then move to Oriole Park at Camden Yards in 1992. 

On September 6th, 1995, Cal Ripken Jr would make history, breaking Lou Gehrig’s record of consecutive games played. It would be another three years, on September 20th, 1998, until Ripken would miss a game, ending his consecutive games played at 2,632. Both of these moments would go down in Orioles history and Major League Baseball history.

2022 Key Stats 

For 2022, the Orioles will look to improve on their disappointing 52-110 2021 season. The Orioles have added starting pitcher Jordan Lyles to the team. Lyles went 10-13 with a 5.15 ERA with the Rangers in 2021. They have also picked up second baseman Rougned Odor, who had a .202 batting average for 2021 with the Yankees. 

The Orioles will have starting pitcher Bruce Zimmermann coming back for the 2022 season. He was 4-5 with a 5.04 ERA during the 2021 season with the Orioles.

Championships Won by the Baltimore Orioles

The Baltimore Orioles have won the World Series a total of three times, they have also won the AL Pennant a total of seven times, and the Orioles have won the AL East Division a total of nine times. The last time the Baltimore Orioles won a World Series was in 1983. The previous World Series appearance by the Orioles was also in 1983, the last time they won the AL Pennant. The most recent AL East Division title win for the Orioles was in 2014.

The three years that the Orioles won the World Series were in 1966, 1970, and 1983. The seven years that the Orioles won the AL Pennant were in 1944, 1966, 1969, 1970, 1971, 1979, and 1983. The nine years that the Orioles won the AL East Division title were in 1969, 1970, 1971, 1973, 1974, 1979, 1983, 1997, and 2014.

Important Team Events

The 2022 season will mark 30 years that the Orioles have been at Camden Yards. The Orioles have plans to celebrate this milestone throughout the 2022 season.

The Orioles will have their Beltway Series against the Washington Nationals on July 21-22 and September 13-14 during the 2022 season.

Top Players 

One of the most prominent players to ever play for the Orioles was shortstop/ third baseman Cal Ripken Jr. Ripken was known as “The Iron Man” of baseball due to his streak of consecutive games played, which is 2,632 games. In 2007, Ripken was voted into the Nation Baseball Hall of Fame.

Another Orioles favorite is first baseman, Eddie Murray. Murray started with the Orioles in 1977 and won Rookie of the Year that year. Murray was also in the running for MVP during his time with the Orioles, ranking as high as 2nd and no lower than 11th. The year Murray finished 2nd was when his teammate Cal Ripken Jr. won the MVP.

But one of the best Orioles that gets overlooked is third baseman, Brooks Robinson. Robinson was known as “The Human Vacuum Cleaner” for his defensive play at third base. When people look for outstanding defensive play at this position, they look to Robinson. He also spent his entire 23-year career with the Orioles, winning AL MVP and World Series MVP one time each during that span,

Top Coaches 

One of the best coaches that graced the Orioles was Earl Weaver. He managed the team from 1968 to 1982. He would come back in 1985 to manage the team for one more year, finally retiring in 1986. As a manager, Weaver would win the AL East six times, take the Orioles to four World Series games, and win one World Series.

Another manager that people remember due to him managing the Orioles during their 1983 World Series win is Joe Altobelli. In his first year, he would take the Orioles to the World Series but would be fired during the middle of the 1985 season. Altobelli would never have a losing season with the Orioles and was above .500 when he was fired in 1985.

Cal Ripken Sr is known for his short time as manager for the team and being a coach while his son Cal Ripken Jr played for the Orioles. Ripken didn’t last long as manager, only managing during the 1987 season and six games during the 1988 season. It was mostly his coaching during his son’s time with the Orioles that made him most memorable.


Next Game


Conference Standings

Team Stats

Frequently Asked Questions

Cal Ripken Jr broke Lou Gehrig’s record on September 6th, 1995.

The last time the Orioles won a World Series was in 1983.

 The most common nicknames for the Orioles are “The O’s” and “The Birds.”

The Baltimore Orioles have been around since 1901 but started as the Milwaukee Brewers. It wouldn’t be until 1954 that the team would move to Baltimore and become the Orioles.

Four Orioles players have won the regular season MVP five times.

Back to top button



Receive weekly FREE betting picks in your email