Miami Marlins Stats


Miami Marlins Insiders

Stadium: Joe Robbie Stadium
Manager: Don Mattingly

2022-2023 TEAM LEADERS

Miami Marlins

Team Summary

The Miami Marlins are a professional baseball team based out of Miami, Florida. They are a part of the National League East in Major League Baseball. The Marlins were an expansion team and first came into existence in 1993.

However, they were known as the Florida Marlins at the time. During their time as Florida Marlins, they played their games at Sun Life Stadium.

However, in 2012 they rebranded the team to be the Miami Marlins and moved to a stadium now called LoanDepot Park. The Marlins have won two World Series championships since joining the MLB.

Miami Marlins Standings

Miami Marlins Betting Trends

Team History 

The Marlins were one of two expansion teams during the 1993 season. The other team added to the MLB was the Colorado Rockies. The name came to fruition because of past minor league teams that had the same name once the franchise was awarded to the Miami area. 

Many expansion teams take a while to find success. However, the Marlins were competitive as soon as 1997. The Marlins hired Jim Leyland as their manager, and they developed a number of quality young talent on the roster.

The team was able to capture a National League Wild Card berth and defeated the Giants in the division series and then beat the Braves in the championship series.

Miami then went on to defeat the Cleveland Indians in seven games in what was one of the most memorable World Series of all time. We will discuss it in more detail under the team championship section. Miami would also win another World Series during the 2003 campaign. 

But since those successful seasons, the Marlins have only managed to make one other postseason appearance, which came in the 2020 expanded playoff format. 

2022 Key Stats

The Marlins endured a difficult 2021 campaign that saw the team finish with an abysmal 67-95 record. But they made the postseason in 2020, and they have a young roster with a load of potential.

They have a pitching staff full of talented arms with high ceilings, such as Sandy Alcantara and Trevor Rogers. Even in an underwhelming overall season last year, Miami finished 11th in the league in ERA with a mark of 3.96. 

The team has dealt with their struggles offensively. But Jazz Chilholm Jr. leads a young and developing core of position players that could place Miami in a position to contend in the near future. The Marlins already made a move to bolster their lineup during the offseason by signing Avisail Garcia as well. 

They will be an exciting team to keep tabs on in 2022. 

Championships Won by the Marlins

Winning two World Series in an eleven-year span is an excellent way to get your franchise off the ground. The Marlins did just that during the timeframe of 1993-2003.

They won their first World Series championship in 1997 and won their second in 2003. Let’s take a closer look at those World Series victories. 

The 1997 World Series is one of the most exciting Fall Classics in MLB history. The Cleveland Indians were one of the most successful teams during the 1990s. They made multiple postseason appearances and had just missed winning the World Series in 1995 when the Atlanta Braves defeated them in six games.

Many expected Cleveland to finally win their first World Series since 1948 against this young Marlins squad. But the Marlins had an extremely impressive roster that featured pesky hitters and talented pitchers. 

After a back-and-forth six games to open up the World Series, the Indians and Marlins found themselves headed for a deciding game seven. And this was the game that would live on in baseball folklore for years to come. With the score tied 2-2 in the bottom of the 11th and the bases loaded, shortstop Edgar Renteria stepped up to the plate to face Charles Nagy.

With two outs and an 0-1 count, Renteria reached out over the plate and deposited a breaking ball right back where it came from up the middle for the game-winning base hit. This moment is the most historic at-bat in Marlins’ history. 

The 2003 team was a unit that featured the likes of Miguel Cabrera, Josh Beckett, and Dontrelle Willis. The team enjoyed a spectacular regular season and postseason en route to a date with the powerful New York Yankees in the Fall Classic.

However, the Marlins showed no fear and went on to upset New York in six games. Josh Beckett finished off game six with a dominant five-hit shutout to clinch the series for the Marlins. 

Important Team Events

The Marlins’ inauguration into Major League Baseball was an exciting time for the league. People all around the game had hoped for a team in South Beach for quite some time. Other cities such as Tampa Bay and Orlando were vying to earn the Florida-based expansion location, but Miami ended up winning out. 

The name change from Florida to Miami in 2012 was an instrumental rebranding moment in Marlins history. They received a new ballpark in the process, and it felt like a sort of restart for the franchise, who had not made the postseason since 2003. 

The Marlins also made history in 2020 by hiring the first woman to an executive position in all of the American professional sports. Kim Ng was the woman who was hired to be the Marlins General Manager, and she has already made a number of insightful moves since taking over GM duties.

Top Players

People sometimes forget that Miguel Cabrera started off his career with the Marlins. He spent five seasons with the team and hit over 30 home runs on three separate occasions.

Additionally, he was a four-time all-star who hit over .300 in four consecutive seasons for the Marlins. But he is remembered playing a crucial role for the team’s offense during their 2003 World Series run despite being just a 20-year-old rookie. 

Giancarlo Stanton spent eight seasons in Miami. The slugger established himself as a true superstar and won the National League MVP Award during his last season with the team in 2017. During that special season, Stanton slammed a league-leading 59 home runs to go along with a league-leading 132 RBI’s.

He slugged an astounding .631 and finished with a 1.007 OPS. Stanton completed his Marlins career with four all-star selections and led the league in home runs twice. 

Jose Fernandez is someone who lives on in fans’ hearts to this day. He was tragically killed in a boating accident in 2016. Fernandez was named to two National League all-star teams during his brief four-year career and never finished with an ERA above 2.92.

Gary Sheffield was instrumental to the Marlins’ success in 1997. However, his best regular-season stat line with the Marlins came in his 1996 all-star season, where he slugged 42 home runs and drove in 120 runs. He added a phenomenal slash line of .314/.465/.624. Sheffield ended his career with the Marlins as a one-time World Series champion and two-time all-star. 

Top Coaches 

Jim Leyland was the Marlins coach from 1997-1998. Despite finishing his career in Florida with an overall record of below .500, Leyland led the Marlins to their first-ever franchise championship in 1997. 

Jack McKeon coached the Marlins from 2003-2005, and then again in 2011. He finished his Marlins coaching career with a winning percentage of .522 to go along with one World Series championship. McKeon is also the only head coach in Marlins history to leave the team with an overall winning percentage of over .500. 

Marlins Recent Trend

Next Game


Team Stats

Frequently Asked Questions

Back to top button

Envelop Image



Receive weekly FREE betting picks in your email