5 Footballisback 970x70 Join Gif
01 480x320 Join Gif

Argentine Grand Prix

Another event in the MotoGP calendar for riders to compete in is the Argentine Grand Prix. It is a fantastic competition that started in 1961. It produced different exciting moments every year before it was stopped. However, with the return since 2014, we’ve had multiple winners at this event.

The Gran Premio Michelin de la Republica Argentina is among the most popular MotoGP events. We expect the riders to bring their A-game and try to join the list of growing winners. The Argentina GP has many talking points; if you want to bet on it, you should keep reading this guide. 

In that case, join us as we dive deeply into this incredible event in the MotoGP yearly schedule. 

Argentine Grand Prix History

The story started in 1961 when it was held at the Autodromo Oscar Alfredo Galvez in Buenos Aires. The event took place on ten different occasions between 1961 and 1999. At the time, it was called the Argentine Motorcycle Grand Prix. We saw different winners for the first ten races at this exquisite MotoGP racing circuit. 

From 1961 until 1993, the Grand Prix de la Republica Argentina’s name was the same, as there was no official sponsor at the time. However, between 1994 and 1995, it was the Grand Prix Marlboro. Then it became the Gran Premio Marlboro de Argentina between 1998 and 1999. However, after the 1999 event, the Argentina GP went on a break.

It wasn’t until 2014 before we got a return; at the time, it was the Gran Premio Red Bull de la Republica Argentina until 2015. Then in 2016, it became the Gran Premio Motul de la Republica Argentina until 2019. After that, it got the Gran Premio Michelin de la Republica Argentina name in 2022. 

The Australian, Tom Phillis, won the first Grand Prix of Argentina in 1961. He was champion in two categories and one of the few to have won the MotoGP race on multiple occasions. Few riders have dominated in Argentina, and Marc Marquez is one of the leading names on that list. 

The Argentine Grand Prix History is pretty exciting, and we’ve enjoyed some of the best races at this exciting event. We expect more to come every new MotoGP season.  

How to Bet on the Argentine Grand Prix

Betting on the Argentine Grand Prix is pretty straightforward. You only need to understand the steps to take whenever you want to place your bets. The first step is to create an account with a reliable sports betting site. In this case, you must take the time to vet different online sportsbooks. 

You should ensure that the one you’re picking has all the features that would improve your gaming experience. It might take some time, but if you can do it right, you’ll have it easy betting on this event. Once you’ve found the betting site you want to use, you should create an account with them.

Fortunately, the process of doing this is easy. You don’t have to spend time going through the different complex tasks. All you have to do is take the time to follow the steps, and in no time, you’re done. After that, you can start betting on different MotoGP races. Then, you can find the Argentine Grand Prix section.

Pick the options you want to bet on and enter the amount you want to stake to place your bets. If you’re right with your predictions, you will win. If not, you can try again. Before you place any bet, you should spend the time to research the riders and teams to know the best-performing ones to increase your winning chances. 

Autodromo Termas de Rio Hondo Circuit Fun Facts

Autodromo Termas de Rio Hondo was announced as the hosting circuit for the Argentina Grand Prix when it returned in 2014. With the opening of this exciting circuit, there are a few exciting facts about this venue, and we’ve explored some of them and listed them in this section. So, let’s get into it. 

  • The circuit was opened in 2008 but didn’t host its first MotoGP event until 2014.
  • Marc Marquez won the first Argentine Grand Prix hosted at the Autodromo Termas de Rio Hondo circuit.
  • The circuit underwent a complete overhaul and rebuilding process in 2012
  • Aside from the Argentine Grand Prix, the circuit hosts other motorsport events.
  • Jarno Zaffelli was the lead architect for the project. 

Top Five Major Argentine Grand Prix Crashes

With this sport heavy on perfection, any little mistake can lead to a catastrophic accident. Therefore, riders must be careful, but we’ve witnessed some crashes despite the safety measures. In that case, below is a list of some of the significant crashes at the Argentine Grand Prix.

  • Marc Marquez 2018
  • Andrea Dovizioso 2022
  • Valentino Rossi 2018
  • Andrea Dovizioso 2019
  • Franco Morbidelli and Maverick Vinales 2019

Top Five Major Argentine Grand Prix Facts

The Argentine Grand Prix has a two-part history, with one ending in 1999 and the other starting in 2014. With this, there are a few exciting facts about this race. So, check out our top five picks for the Argentine Grand Prix facts. 

  • Before the break-in 1999, the Argentina MotoGP only happened ten times. 
  • The first circuit was the Autodromo Oscar Alfredo Galvez in Buenos Aires.
  • Valentino Rossi is the only rider to win at the Autodromo Oscar Alfredo Galvez and the Autodromo Termas de Rio Hondo.
  • The event has had five name changes since 1982.
  • Before the break, the event produced only five different winners.

Argentine Grand Prix FAQs

Yes, you can place bets on the Grand Prix de la Republica Argentina if you can find a suitable online betting platform to join.

You can bet on the Argentina Grand Prix at any top online sportsbook available to players in your region that feature MotoGP races.

Marc Marquez currently holds the most wins at this venue. He remains one of the best riders to grace the event.

The Grand Prix of Argentina is usually the third round of the MotoGP season. So, it happens early in the championship.

Back to top button



Receive weekly FREE betting picks in your email