5 Footballisback 970x70 Join Gif
01 480x320 Join Gif

The Qatar Grand Prix

Every year, we visit different countries to see top MotoGP riders compete for the podium. And the Qatar Motorcycle Grand Prix, is one of the most anticipated of the year. It has been around for over a decade and has produced many talking points. We continue to get impressive actions every year.

The Qatar GP has produced multiple winners and remains a challenging terrain for riders. Since its inception, the Grand Prix has given us many exciting battles. However, we didn’t enjoy it in 2020 when we had to lock down because of the Coronavirus outbreak. Aside from 2020, the Qatar GP has been a solid event. 

Let’s take a deep dive into this exciting Grand Prix. Qatar is an exciting place to visit. So, keep reading to learn more about the Qatar Grand Prix.

The Qatar Grand Prix History

In 2004, the Qatar Grand Prix’s first official race happened. And from 2004 to 2005, the official name and sponsor was the Marlboro Grand Prix of Qatar before the name was changed to the Commercial Bank Grand Prix of Qatar. In 2017, 2018, and 2022, the name was the Grand Prix of Qatar, as there was no official sponsor.

In 2019, the name was VisitQatar Grand Prix, and in 2020, the official name was the QNB Grand Prix of Qatar. For 2021, the name was Barwa Grand Prix of Qatar. Throughout the name changes, the circuit remained. The Lusail International Circuit has been hosting the Qatar GP since 2004. 

One of the historical moments at the Qatar Grand Prix was in 2008 when the Grand Prix hosted a night event for the first time. This move has improved the experience in Qatar because the day-time heat has been dangerous to tire conditions and the customized parts on the machine, making the shift to night-time worthwhile.

Sete Gibernau was the first rider to win at the Qatar Grand Prix. After Gibernau, Valentino Rossi won Qatar’s MotoGP race the following year. He is one of the riders to have multiple wins in Qatar. Undoubtedly, he is one of the best riders the Lusail Circuit has seen. He is followed by Casey Stoney, who won three consecutive races.   

How to Bet on The Qatar Grand Prix

Betting on the Qatar Grand Prix isn’t too tricky. You just need to know what you’re betting on and the available options. Aside from that, you need to find a good sports betting site where you can bet on the MotoGP event. Fortunately, many online sportsbooks offer betting lines for the Qatar Grand Prix. 

In that case, when you want to get started, you should take the time to look for a suitable sports betting site by doing a simple search based on your location. Ensure that you vet the site before you choose one. That will increase your chances of joining a suitable site and enjoying your betting experience. 

Once you’ve selected the right betting site, the next step is to create an account and fund it. After that, you need to make your prediction and place your bets. It is easy when you know the events and how it works. Also, you need to know more about the sport’s rules before you start. 

Aside from that, there are different betting options you can decide to bet on when you choose the Qatar Grand Prix. These markets are also available for other MotoGP events. Some major betting options include the Race Winner, Winning Margin, Outright, and Head-to-Head. 

Lusail Circuit Fun Facts

Since the first race, the Lusail Circuit has had exciting moments. So, here are some of the Lusail International Circuit fun facts. 

  • The Lusail International Circuit is the track that has hosted the season’s first event uninterrupted the most.
  • The circuit was completed in less than one. Work started in October 2003, and it finished in September 2004.
  • The first night-time race happened on the 9th of March, 2008, and since then, the average temperature has been 22.8-celsius, which is about half of the 45.5-celsius average temperature when it was held during the day. 
  • The Lusail International Circuit is about 30 KMs north of Doha. 
  • It is one of the tracks with the season’s best fuel consumption.

Top Five Major The Qatar Grand Prix Crashes

In MotoGP, riders’ safety is a crucial part of the competition. Technological advancements have helped increase the safety of riders. However, we still experience some dangerous crashes during various races, and since the Qatar Grand Prix started, we’ve seen some riders crash. So, below are our top five crashes in the Qatar Grand Prix over the years. 

  • Valentino Rossi 2004
  • Jorge Martin 2022
  • Jorge Lorenzo 2014
  • Francesco Bagnaia 2022
  • Cal Crutchlow 2017

Top Five The Qatar Grand Prix de Qatar Facts

The Qatar Grand Prix is growing to be an exciting event in the MotoGP world, and since its inception, we’ve had different occurrences. In that case, we’ve listed five significant facts about the Qatar Grand Prix for you to see. 

  • The event took place in the day for the first four years from 2004-2007 before moving to a night race in March 2008.
  • Since the race moved to nighttime, more than 40 generators have been used to create electricity for the over 3,600 floodlights, which could light up 3,000 homes, a residential street that can run from Doha to Moscow, cities separated by 4,600 KMs, and 70 soccer pitches. 
  • Heavy rain in 2009 caused the postponement of the MotoGP race until Monday.
  • Since most of the Qataris are Muslims, around 75%, the podium ceremony at the Qatar Grand Prix comes with cava without alcohol.
  • In the Qatar Grand Prix, the riders use more transparent visors to adapt to the Qatari night. Gra

Qatar Grand Prix FAQs

The Lusail International Circuit has been hosting the Gran Premio de Qatar since its inauguration in 2004.

The race happens in the nighttime and has been like that since 2008 after the time was changed due to the damaging daytime heat.

Sete Gibernau won the first Grand Prix of Qatar when it was inaugurated in 2004.

To bet on the Qatar GP, you must find the right sports betting site with MotoGP races. Once you do, create an account, deposit, and start betting.

The most exciting fact came in 2019 when we had the closest top 15 in a MotoGP race. At the end of the race, only 15.093 seconds separated the winner and the 15th-placed rider.

Back to top button



Receive weekly FREE betting picks in your email