NASCAR Schedule

Nascar logo

Getting into the NASCAR Schedule

Brief Introduction to the NASCAR

The National Association for Stock Car Auto Racing, LLC (NASCAR) is a sanctioning and operating business for stock car racing in the United States. Bill France Sr. created the privately held corporation in 1948. NASCAR sanctions approximately 1,500 races each year at over 100 tracks in 48 US states, Canada, Mexico, and Europe. 

A group of drivers gathered at Daytona Beach, Florida on March 8, 1936. The drivers entered coupes, hardtops, convertibles, and sports cars in a competition to identify the fastest vehicles and greatest drivers. The heavier cars became mired down in the sand throughout the race, but the lightweight Fords handled the course’s ruts, finally finishing in the top six. 

Only ten of the 27 vehicles that started the race survived the experience, as organizers called the race off 10 miles short of the planned 250-mile route. At the end of the day, driver Milt Marion was proclaimed the winner, with a youthful France finishing fifth. It was after this that France set out to create NASCAR.

History of NASCAR Schedule

NASCAR’s first season was in 1948, and it included a lengthy 52-race schedule. Only two races were held above the Mason-Dixon line. Martinsville Speedway is the lone remaining track on the calendar. NASCAR competed on a number of dirt courses, some of which are no longer in use, that year. 

The schedule didn’t alter much until 1971, when RJ Reynolds Tobacco Company became NASCAR’s official sponsor and the Winston Cup Series was born. It is considered the start of NASCAR’s contemporary era. The season was trimmed to 31 races as a result of the adjustments. 

All races on dirt, as well as races less than 250 kilometers, were dropped from the schedule. Hickory, Greenville-Pickens Speedway, Smokey Mountain Raceway, and Trenton Speedway were among the circuits used by the Sprint Cup Series in the past.

As unbelievable as it may seem, the Daytona 500 was not the opening race of the year until 1981. The Winston Western 500 was held at Riverside Raceway. Riverside had its final appearance in the Sprint Cup series in 1988. The track was eventually demolished and replaced with a commercial complex.

Upcoming Races & Full Calendar

Main Events on NASCAR Schedule

The Daytona 500 is an annual NASCAR Cup Series motor race held at Daytona International Speedway in Daytona Beach, Florida. It is 500 miles long and it’s the first of two Cup races conducted at Daytona each year, the second of which is the Coke Zero Sugar 400, and one of three staged in Florida, with the annual spring showdown Dixie Vodka 400 located south of Miami. 

It was one of four restrictor-plate events on the Cup circuit from 1988 through 2019. The first Daytona 500 was contested in 1959 to coincide with the construction of the speedway, and it has been the season opener for the Cup series since 1982.

It’s also the series’ first race of the year; this is unusual in sports since championships and other significant events are usually held towards the end of the season rather than at the beginning. 

From 1995 to 2020, the Daytona 500 had the highest television ratings of any auto race in the United States, surpassing the traditional leader, the Indianapolis 500, which also outperforms the Daytona 500 in terms of in-track attendance and international viewing; however, the Indianapolis 500 surpassed the Daytona 500 in terms of TV ratings and viewership in 2021. 

The Indianapolis 500 is an annual car race held at Indianapolis Motor Speedway in Speedway, Indiana, United States, an enclave suburb of Indianapolis. The race is part of the Triple Crown of Motorsport and is touted as “The Greatest Spectacle in Racing.”

It is part of the IndyCar Series, which is the highest level of American Championship Car racing. It is an open-wheel, open-cockpit formula known informally as “Indy Car Racing.” Because the racing surface was covered in brick in the fall of 1909, the track is known as the “Brickyard.” At the start/finish line, one yard of brick remains visible.

NASCAR Main Venues

The Daytona International Speedway is where it all began. Every time NASCAR has progressed to the next level, it has begun in Daytona. The Daytona 500 is the Super Bowl of Motorsports. It is the most prestigious race on the NASCAR Sprint Cup calendar and kicks off the season.

Daytona holds multiple races each year but the biggest one they hold is the Daytona 500 by far. This is the ultimate race experience for many NASCAR and racing fans across the country.

Another historical must-see venue is the Indianapolis Motor Speedway. Seeing a race at the Indianapolis Motor Speedway is an unforgettable experience for every racing enthusiast. The term “feel” is crucial. 

It’s impossible to express the visceral sensation of 43 NASCAR Sprint Cup cars racing down the front straightaway. 

Close to the start/finish line is the greatest area to sit for the Brickyard 400. Because sitting near the start/finish line does not provide a 360-degree view of the track, it is critical to figure out where the large screen TVs are located.

After Covid-19 Details

After COVID-19 hit, NASCAR did have to delay their season much like other sports leagues but due to the nature of their sport they did not have to put in the big delays that other sports did. They had a plan to formulate a full schedule with 30 races in 64 days but that was shot down. They ended up holding an abbreviated circuit in 2020 and were the first sports league to restart after the pandemic hit.

NASCAR Schedule FAQs

NASCAR was invented in 1948.

The Daytona 500 is the first race each year.

The Indianapolis 500 is the most viewed race each year.

There were 52 races in the first year of NASCAR

NASCAR sanctions more than 1,500 races per year.

Back to top button



Receive weekly FREE betting picks in your email