Baylor Bears


Baylor Bears Insiders Betting Digest

Stadium:McLane Stadium
Coach:Dave Aranda
SU Record: 11-3
ATS Record: 9-5-0


Sep-4 @Texas State
Sep-11 vs Texas Southern
Sep-18 @Kansas
Sep-25 vs Iowa State
Oct-2 @Oklahoma State
Oct-9 vs West Virginia
Oct-16 vs BYU
Oct-30 vs Texas
Nov-6 @TCU
Nov-13 vs Oklahoma
Nov-20 @Kansas State
Nov-27 vs Texas Tech

Baylor Bears Returning Stats Leaders

Charlie Brewer 198 321 1.958 61,7 14 8
Craig Williams 26 197 7,6 32 2
John Lovett 45 130 2,9 19 1
Qualan Jones 34 124 3,6 15 0
R.J. Sneed 39 497 12,7 39 3
Gavin Holmes 33 244 7,4 25 1
Josh Fleeks 21 181 8,6 34 1
Ben Sims 14 164 11,7 25 3
John Mayers 22 22 100 10 15 66,7
Jalen Pitre 41 19 60 2,5 2 0
Dillon Doyle 36 20 56 0,5 1 1
Terrel Bernard 34 21 55 1 1 0
Christian Morgan 39 15 54 1 1 0
Abram Smith 31 17 48 1 0 0


72% 59% 58%

Baylor Bears

Baylor started playing football in 1899 and with the exception of three seasons, they have been playing every year since. After playing as an independent until 1915, they joined the Southwest Conference until its demise in 1996 and is currently a member of the Big 12 Conference, which now has a tenuous future.

The Bears don’t have much of a history of success, with only five conference championships since 1924, three in the Southwest Conference and a pair in the Big 12, but it took almost 20 years in the league to capture one before earning back to back titles in 2013 and 2014.

The program has played in 25 bowl games with a record of 13-12, most recently appearing in the Sugar Bowl following the 2019 season, losing to Georgia by a score of 26-14, breaking a winning streak in three postseason appearances under a trio of head coaches. Baylor has produced one Heisman Trophy winner, with quarterback Robert Griffin III garnering the honor following the 2011 season.

Championships by Baylor

Baylor won or shared the Southwest Conference championship in four of their first ten seasons in the league, then went 50 years before winning another one in 1974, going 6-1 in the conference and 8-4 overall and earning a trip to the Cotton Bowl where they lost to Penn State 41-20. In 1980, they went undefeated with an 8-0 record and finished the regular season at 10-1 before losing to Alabama 30-2 in the Cotton Bowl.

They won their final Southwest Conference crown in 1994, finishing in a five way tie with Texas, TCU, Rice and Texas Tech at 4-3 after Texas A&M finished with a record of 6-0-1 but was ruled ineligible for the title after being cited for NCAA violations. The advanced to the Alamo Bowl where they were defeated by Washington State 10-3.

In 2013 and 2014, Baylor won their only two Big 12 titles, finishing 8-1 in the conference and 11-2 overall in both seasons. In 2013 they defeated Texas in their final game to clinch the league championship and advanced to their first BCS bowl appearance in the Fiesta Bowl, losing to the University of Central Florida 52-42 and were defeated by Michigan State in the Cotton Bowl following the 2014 season.

Key Stats by Team

Baylor has an all-time record of 608 wins, 578 losses and 44 ties in 120 seasons of play. They play their home games in the 45,140 seat capacity McLane Stadium.

Since 1949, the Bears have been ranked by one or both of the reporting services at the conclusion of the season 18 times, with the highest finishes coming in 2014 at seventh in the AP poll and eighth in the coaches’. Their longest streak of rankings came from 1949 – 1951 and 2013-2015 with back to back rankings in 1950-1951 and 1985-1986.

The highest scoring team in Baylor’s long football history came in 2103 when the Bears put up a total 681 points for an average of 52.4 points a game, led by quarterback Bryce Petty with 4200 yards and 32 touchdowns through the air as well as 14 on the ground and Lache Seastrunk with 1177 yards and 11 touchdowns on the ground.

As a team, the 2013 Bears also had their most productive season in yardage gained, averaging over 618 total yards per game, with 359 yards passing and almost 260 on the ground.

Top Players in Baylor History

Heisman Trophy winner and second overall draft pick by the Washington Football Team Robert Griffin III is the Baylor career leader in passing yards with 10,366, completion percentage of 67.1% and 78 touchdown passes which he compiled from 2008 – 2011. Griffin also added 2254 yards and 33 touchdowns running the football during his stellar career.

Shock Linwood is the leader with 4213 career rushing yards and 37 touchdowns from 2013 to 2016. The leading career receiver is Kendall Wright, who caught 302 passes for 4004 yards as Griffin’s major target and Corey Coleman is the leader in receiving touchdowns with 33 from 2013 – 2015.

Kicker Aaron Jones is the career scoring leader for Baylor, racking up 451 total points with 274 extra points and 59 field goals made from 2010 to 2013. The leading scorer among non-kickers is running back Linwood, with 36 rushing and one receiving touchdown for 222 points.

Top Coaches in Baylor History

Baylor has had 20 head coaches in the history of their football program, beginning with R.H. Hamilton and concluding with current head coach Dave Aranda, who took over following the 2019 season. The leader in games coached is Grant Teaff with 239, who led the Bears from 1972-1992 with a record of 238-105-6.

Under Teaff, Baylor won two Southwest Conference titles after a 50 year drought and played in eight bowl games after an absence of 11 years, with a record of 4-4. Teaff was named the National Coach of the Year in 1974 and the Southwest Conference Coach of the Year in his championship seasons of 1974 and 1980.

On the field, Art Briles was able to bring unprecedented success to the Baylor program from 2008 – 2015, posting a 65-37 record for a .637 winning rate and receiving the Big 12 and AP coach of Year honors in 2013. He led the Bears to their first bowl appearance since 1994 in 2010, with a record of 3-3 in six consecutive postseason games and Baylor produced their only Heisman Trophy winner in their history when Robert Griffin III won the award in 2011.

Unfortunately, the Briles tenure was rocked by a sexual scandal that resulted in his departure following the 2015 season, along with the athletic director and university president. He was first replaced by interim head coach Jim Grobe for the 2016 season, with the team going 6-6 and winning theCactus Bowl 31-12 over Boise State.

Then Matt Rhule arrived in 2017 and stabilized the program in his three years at the helm, going 19-18 and earning the 2019 Big 12 Coach of the Year honors before departing to become the head coach of the NFL Carolina Panthers.

Frequently Asked Questions

Back to top button