Michigan Wolverines


Michigan Wolverines Insiders

Michigan Wolverines

Team Leaders

Michigan Wolverines Team News & Picks

The Michigan Wolverines are one of the best college football programs in the country. Michigan is also one of the most crucial college football programs, and it is loaded with history and tradition.

Michigan hasn’t won a National Championship in more than two decades, but they were once a threat to win a title every season. Some of the best players in NFL history also attended school at Michigan, including maybe the best quarterback of all time.

The Wolverines have a terrific rivalry with Ohio State, and it is one of the biggest rivalries in sports. The rest of the Big Ten Conference has started to catch up to the Wolverines football program, but this will always be a team with high expectations and pressure to perform.

Michigan Wolverines Standings

The Michigan Wolverines are a powerhouse in the NCAAF, with a strong record and impressive stats. Their solid standing in the league is a testament to their hard work and determination, and fans are eager to see what they can achieve this season.

Michigan Wolverines Betting Trends

Michigan Wolverines History

The Michigan Wolverines are the winningest college football team in history, and they are closing in on 1,000 victories. The Alabama Crimson Tide and Ohio State Buckeyes have started to close that gap, but Michigan has a lead by close to 40 wins.

1879 was the first season of college football for the University of Michigan, and the program has racked up a total of 16 titles since that time. There have been 83 consensus All-Americans that have worn the Maize and Blue and starred for the Wolverines.

Recent History

Recent history hasn’t been to the side of the Michigan Wolverines football program, as their last title came back in 1997. Michigan hasn’t won the Big Ten Conference since the 2004 season, and they are in the midst of one of the longest droughts in program history.

Finding elite talent has been a challenge for Michigan, as they have not had a player finish in the Top 3 of the Heisman Trophy voting since Charles Woodson won the award in 1997. Jabril Peppers finished 5th in the Heisman Trophy voting in 2016 and was the most recent player to get that many votes.

Another disappointing trend for the Wolverines is that they are currently on an eight-game losing streak to the Ohio State Buckeyes. One more win for Ohio State would match the longest winning streak in this rivalry, set by Michigan from 1901-1909.

Key Players in History

Michigan has had three players win the Heisman Trophy as a member of the football team, but it was one unheralded player that went on to a legendary career in the NFL. Tom Harmon (1940), Desmond Howard (1991), and Charles Woodson (1997) are the three players that have won the Heisman at Michigan.

Tom Brady went 20-5 after becoming the starting quarterback at Michigan, which earned him a selection by the New England Patriots in the NFL Draft. Brady has gone on to win seven Super Bowls during his career and remains one of the best players in the league.

Key Championships

Michigan has 11 claimed national championships in program history, and they also have five titles that have gone unclaimed. It’s hard to pick which championship was the most important, but Michigan hasn’t been able to win one since the 1997 season.

One interesting fact is that Michigan’s national championships have come after an undefeated season. There have been a few ties in some years that a title was won, but the Wolverines could go without a loss in every single title run.

Conference Outlook

The Big Ten Conference is arguably the best college football conference in the country, and it is a league that continues to send teams to the College Football Playoff. The Ohio State Buckeyes have been the most dominant team in the 21st century, but this conference used to be controlled by Michigan and Penn State as well.

When the Big Ten Conference expanded to 14 teams, the league split the conference into two divisions. Ohio State, Penn State, and Michigan all landed in the East Division, which is much tougher than the West.

The Big Ten Conference Championship Game is held in Indianapolis each year, and it features the winners of each division. In many cases, the winner of the annual Ohio State-Michigan game has determined the winner of the East Division.

Coaching History

Michigan has had just 20 head coaches since they began to playback in 1879, and there have been some coaches with great overall records. Bo Schembechler coached the team from 1969-1989, which is the longest tenure as head coach of the Wolverines.

Schembechler is also the most successful coach at Michigan, winning 194 games and losing just 48 with five ties.

Fielding Yost has won the most national championships at Michigan, winning the title six times during his tenure at the beginning of the 1900s. Harry Kipke (1929-1937) is the only other head coach to win multiple titles while guiding the Michigan football program.

Since Schembechler retired in 1989, Michigan has had just five head coaches, and Lloyd Carr was easily the most successful. Carr led Michigan to five Big Ten Conference championships from 1995-2007.


Wolverines Recent Trend

Next Game


Team Stats

Michigan Wolverines FAQs

What conference do the Michigan Wolverines compete in?

The Michigan Wolverines are members of the Big Ten Conference. They compete in the East Division.

Who is the winningest coach in Michigan football history?

Bo Schembechler is the winningest coach in Michigan football history, racking up 194 wins in 247 games.

What is the name of the home stadium of the Michigan Wolverines?

Michigan Stadium is where the Michigan Wolverines play their home football games. The stadium is known as the “Big House” because it holds more than 107,000 fans.

Has Michigan had any Heisman Trophy winners?

Yes, Michigan has had three players win the Heisman Trophy, but none since 1997. Here is the list: Tom Harmon (1940), Desmond Howard (1991), Charles Woodson (1997). 

When was the last National Championship for Michigan?

The last national championship for the University of Michigan came during the 1997 season.

Latest NCAAF News

BetUS Banner IBD

BetUS Banner IBD