Los Angeles Rams Stats


Los Angeles Rams Insiders

2023-2024 TEAM LEADERS

Los Angeles Rams

The Rams were first founded in 1936 as the Cleveland Rams of the American Football League. The second iteration of that league lasted only two seasons, but it had a lasting impact on the sports landscape.

Not only did that version of the AFL give birth to the Rams, the only team from that league that moved to the NFL, but it also showed that professional football could work on the west coast. The AFL had a team called the Los Angeles Bulldogs, who won the league championship and averaged more than 14,000 fans a game.

When the AFL folded, the Bulldogs became an independent team playing exclusively on the west coast. And after eight years of success in Cleveland and the year after they won the NFL Championship, the Rams decided to make the move to the sunshine of California.

As part of their stadium agreement with the Los Angeles Coliseum, another change came to the NFL. In order for the Rams to be in compliance with the lease agreement, they were required to integrate the team. During their years in Cleveland, they only had white players.

The Rams added two black players for that season, running back Kenny Washington (the first black player in the NFL since 1933 and a teammate of Jackie Robinson at UCLA) and Woody Strode a month later, who is better known for his Best Supporting Actor Golden Globe nomination for the movie Spartacus 14 years later.

With the stars and accolades that followed, this was definitely a team made for Hollywood.

Los Angeles Rams Standings

The Los Angeles Rams are a professional American football team based in Los Angeles, California. The team plays in the National Football League (NFL) as a member of the NFC West division. The Rams have a strong tradition and have made several trips to the NFL playoffs, including a trip to the Super Bowl.

Los Angeles Rams Betting Trends

Championships by the Los Angeles Rams

1945 NFL Championship

This game is famous for a couple of reasons. It was the Rams final game in Cleveland, and the fact that it was eight-below zero at kickoff may have had something to do with the desire to move to California the next year.

It was also a one-point Cleveland win, 15-14, decided by an antiquated two-point rule. Back then, the goalposts were on the goal-line, and Washington quarterback Sammy Baugh, who had dropped into the end zone, hit the goalpost with his pass. Instead of being an incomplete pass, it was an automatic safety, and the Rams went on to win the championship.

The rule was changed the next season.

1951 NFL Championship

It was the third straight Championship Game appearance by the Rams, and finally, they got over the hump and got the win, 24-17 over the Browns. In the battle of future Hall of Fame quarterbacks, Norm Van Brocklin got the better of Otto Graham with a game-winning 73-yard touchdown pass in the fourth quarter.

Super Bowl XXXIV

Another game that came down to the wire, and another Hall of Fame quarterback leading the Rams – just 48 years after their last championship.

It was “The Greatest Show on Turf” as the Rams went from 4-12 the season before to 13-3 and Super Bowl champions. Kurt Warner was the game’s MVP with 414 yards passing, and linebacker Mike Jones was the defensive hero. It was his tackle that dropped Kevin Dyson one-yard short of tying the score on the game’s final play.

The final score was 23-16.

Key Stats by the Los Angeles Rams

The Rams have three total NFL Championships in their history, and they won a title in each of the three cities they’ve called home.

Along with their Super Bowl victory after the 1999 season, the Rams have been on the losing end in three other Super Bowls: 31-19 to Pittsburgh in Super Bowl XIV, 20-17 to New England in Super Bowl XXXVI, and 13-3 to New England in Super Bowl LIII.

Along with those four NFC titles, the Rams won their conference three other times (1950, 1951, and 1955.)

They have 17 division championships in their history, including 13 NFC West titles. The Rams have been in the playoffs a total of 30 times.

Top Players in Los Angeles Rams History

Te long and storied history of the Rams has featured a large number of all-time great players.

Three different Hall of Fame quarterbacks have led the Rams – Bob Waterfield in the 1940s, Norm Van Brocklin in the 1950s, and Arena League quarterback turned NFL MVP, Kurt Warner.

Some of the best running backs to ever play the game have also been Rams. Eric Dickerson’s 2,105 yards in 1984 is still the NFL record. The five-time First-Team All-Pro retired with 13,259 yards rushing. Marshall Faulk, a Hall of Famer in 2011, is the only player in NFL history to have more than 12,000 yards rushing and 6,000 yards receiving.

Great offensive linemen include first overall draft pick Orlando Pace and Jackie Slater, who played 20 seasons for the Rams.

Top wide receivers include Elroy “Crazy Legs” Hirsh, who averaged 124.6 receiving yards a game during the Rams 1951 championship season, and Isaac Bruce, who broke the 1,000-yard receiving mark eight different seasons.

Defensive stars include Hall of Fame members of the Fearsome Foursome, Deacon Jones and Merlin Olsen, five-time First-Team All-Pro Jack Youngblood, and three-time First-Team All-Pro Kevin Greene.

Top Coaches in Los Angeles Rams History

Knute Rockne protege Adam Walsh won the Rams’ first NFL Championship. He moved with the team to L.A. for its first season there but then moved back east and continued his career coaching college football.

Joe Stydahar was the coach for the Rams’ second NFL Championship and made the championship game in each of his two full seasons in L.A. But a rift between him and one of his assistants developed in 1952, and the owner bought him out of his contract.

Pro Football Hall of Famer Sid Gillman coached the Rams for five seasons. He went on to win an AFL championship with the Chargers and coach the Oilers for two seasons.

George Allen was the NFL Coach of the Year in 1967 as the head coach of the Rams. He was inducted into the Hall of Fame in 2002.

The winningest coach in team history is John Robinson. He won 79 games over nine seasons and twice appeared in the NFC Championship Game.


Rams Recent Trend

Next Game


Team Stats

Los Angeles Rams Frequently Asked Questions

Insiders Betting Digest



Join Us And Start Winning!