Arsenal logo


  • Location: London, England
  • Stadium: Emirates Stadium
  • Coach: Mikel Arteta Amatriain
  • Premier League Titles: 3

Current Squad / Roster

General Statistics 2022-2023

Matches Played


To Play









Goals Against


First Division/Premier League titles: 1930-31, 1932-33, 1933-34, 1934-35, 1937-38, 1947-48, 1952-53, 1970-71, 1988-89, 1990-91, 1997-98, 2001-02, 2003-04

Community Shield wins: 1930, 1931, 1933, 1934, 1938, 1948, 1953, 1991, 1998, 1999, 2002, 2004, 2014, 2015, 2017, 2020

FA cup titles: 1929-30, 1935-36, 1949-50, 1970-71, 1978-79, 1992-93, 1997-98, 2001-02, 2002-03, 2004-05, 2013-14, 2014-15, 2016-17, 2019-20

UEFA Cup Winners’ cup: 1993-94

League Cup/EFL Cup titles: 1986-87, 1992-93

Team History

The club was founded in 1886 as the Dial Square Football Club playing in the Royal Arsenal complex. Later that year, they took on the Royal Arsenal name and turned professional in 1891.

They became Woolwich Arsenal and joined the Football League but suffered financial hardships and low attendance. 

Their stadium was burned down in 1913, and they moved across the river to Arsenal Stadium in Highbury. They brought in Herbert Chapman as a manager in 1925 and added a handful of young players like Cliff Bastin and Eddie Hapgood.

League Championships in 1930-31

They won the FA Cup for the first time in 1930 and took League Championships in 1930-31 and 1932-33. 

They added two more League Championships and two more FA Cups before World War II.

After the war, the Gunners won a title in 1947-48 under Tom Whittaker, and their seventh title in 1952-53 made Arsenal the most successful club in England. 

From 1953 to 1971, Arsenal didn’t win a major trophy. They bounced back under manager Bertie Mee to win both in 1970-71, but the double-winning side struggled for the rest of the decade.

The club won the 1979 FA Cup over Manchester United but didn’t lift another trophy until 1987. George Graham took over as manager and won that League Cup in 1987.

A 2-0 win on the last day of the season clinched the 1988-89 League title, the first since 1971. Another title followed in 1990-91 with a FA Cup/League Cup double in 1993. 

Arsene Wenger was the new manager in 1996, and the Frenchman brought in an attacking style of play. With Thierry Henry leading the way, Arsenal won the League/Cup double in 1997-98 and again in 2001-02.

They became the Invincibles, winning the 2003-04 title without a loss with an English record 49 matches unbeaten. 

Champions League in the 2000s

As part of the Big Four and then the Big Six, Arsenal routinely played in the Champions League in the 2000s but didn’t get past the quarterfinals until 2006, when they lost in the finals to Barcelona.

Emirates Stadium opened in July 2006, but the team didn’t win a trophy until the 2014 FA Cup. They won another in 2017 before Wenger retired. 

Unai Emery and Mikel Arteta both landed Arsenal in Europa League instead of Champions League in the years after Wenger.

However, Arteta won a record 14th FA Cup in 2020. The 2020-21 season saw Arsenal finish eighth in the Premier League standings, the first time in 26 years they failed to qualify for European competition. 

Team Records

Looking at the Arsenal stats and Premier League stats, no one has played more games for the Gunners than David O’Leary with 558 in his stint from 1975-93, Tony Adams played 504 games from 1983-2002 and George Armstrong also hit the 500 games mark from 1961-77. 

Ted Drake holds the Arsenal records for most total goals in a season (44) and most league goals in a season (42) in 1934-35.

Thierry Henry set the Premier League season record with 30 goals in 2003-04 and had his record matched by Robin van Persie in 2011-12.

Drake is the single-game record holder as well as he scored seven goals in a league game against Aston Villa in 1935.

Henry led the Gunners in scoring for eight straight seasons and holds the career goal record with 228 goals. Ian Wright is second with 185 goals, and Cliff Bastin is third with 178 goals. 

Looking at the Arsenal stats for transfers, the record spent on a new player was £72 million on Nicolas Pepe in 2019. They made a record  £40 million by selling Alex Oxlade-Chamberlain to Liverpool in 2017.

Heading into the 2022-23 Premier League season, Arsenal brought in a handful of new players, spending close to £100 million. These additions raised Arsenal’s odds in the Premier League odds for a title race.

The biggest names came from Manchester City, with £45 million spent on striker Gabriel Jesus and £30 million spent on defender Oleksandr Zinchenko.

Fábio Vieira Trade

They spent £30 million to bring in midfielder Fábio Vieira from Porto. Jesus could be a player to keep an eye on for Premier League betting in the Golden Boot race.

Arsenal added to their goalkeeping depth by adding USMNT goalie Matt Turner from New England Revolution. They also added winger Marquinhos from Sao Paulo in Brazil.

The Gunners didn’t lose much this summer; only striker Alexandre Lacazette was released to Lyon. The Frenchman scored six goals last season.

The longest-tenured manager in team history is Arsene Wenger, who was in charge for more than 21 years, winning 707 games. From October 1996 to May 2018, Wenger led Arsenal to three Premier League titles, seven FA Cup wins, and seven Community Shield wins.

He was named Premier League Manager of the Season three times and is in the English Football Hall of Fame.

Herbert Chapman managed the Gunners from 1925-34. He led the team to their first-ever FA Cup, Community Shield, and First Division wins.

FA Cup Title

Overall he won two league titles, passing away in the middle of the 1933-34 title campaign. Chapman was in charge for three Community Shield wins and one FA Cup title while winning 204 games overall. 

Bertie Mee managed Arsenal from 1966 to 1976 winning 241 games. He led Arsenal to the 1970-71 First Division/FA Cup double and the 1969-70 Inter-Cities Fairs Cup.

George Graham led Arsenal from 1986 to 1995 with 225 wins and a return to prominence. Under Graham, the Gunners won the First Division for the first time in 17 years in 1988-89 and won again in 1990-91.

Graham also lifted:

  • FA Cup
  • Football League Cup
  • UEFA Cup Winners Cup and Community Shield

Managers Joe Shaw, Tom Whittaker, and George Allison also won league titles, while Terry Neill and current manager Mikel Arteta were in charge for FA Cup wins. 

Team Standings

Team Leaders


BetUS Banner IBD

BetUS Banner IBD