FIFA World Cup Standings

Introduction to FIFA World Cup Standings

There are a few main structural rules that people should understand about World Cup standings.

Before the madness begins every four years, thirty-two sides are drawn into eight different groups, labeled A-H, leaving four teams per group.

There are four pots teams get drawn from, and each group ultimately supports one team from each of those groups. Sides are placed in specific pots based on how they performed in World Cup qualifiers, which occur before the competition begins. This helps the competition get evenly distributed, creating scintillating knockout rounds.

When the competition begins, each team faces off against the other three sides in their respective group. Three points are rewarded for a win, one point is rewarded for a draw, and zero points are rewarded for a loss.

After these three group stage matches, the top two performers in each group advance to the knockout stages. This is where standings can sign off for the tournament, as after the group stages, we shift to a knockout form. This begins with the Round of Sixteen and concludes with the holy World Cup Final.

While a second-place finish is enough to qualify for the knockout stages, it is important to finish first, as most of the time, that side will be the stronger one in the next Round. The eight teams that finish first play the eight that end in second.

Importance of FIFA World Cup Standings for Bettors

It is critical to understand how these groups work from a betting perspective, particularly for future bets. 

Betting on a team to qualify for the knockout rounds means they need to finish within the top fifty percent of their group, so if their opponents are formidable, maybe don’t place that bet.

It is essential to follow these standings when considering individual FIFA World Cup picks, specifically in one-on-one matchups. If a team has either mathematically qualified for the knockout stages or been eliminated, that side will likely rotate their squad, meaning that value can be found in the sides gasping for air.

It can also be beneficial to keep up with these standings to understand what possible matchups could occur in future rounds, as teams can often land easy paths to the final.

How the FIFA World Cup Season Works

The World Cup begins with group stage matches, which are the only aspect of the tournament that involves standings.

Afterward, the Round of sixteen begins, followed by the Quarter-Finals, Semi-Finals, and Final. 

Each tournament is incredibly sacred since there are only World Cups every four years. Only eight teams have won the FIFA World Cup in history, with Brazil leading all nations with an incredible five triumphs.

The FIFA World Cup is truly one of the most renowned competitions in all sports, and it is essential to savor each quadrennial one.

FIFA World Cup Standings Frequently Asked Questions

The Group of Death is a common term for the most well-rounded and robust World Cup group in the tournament.

When two sides in a World Cup group tie on points, the tiebreaker is goal differential, and then afterward, head-to-head results.

The host nation qualifies for the World Cup and is placed in Pot 1 regardless of their performance in qualifiers. For example, Qatar, the upcoming 2022 World Cup host, were placed in Pot 1 prior to the draw, despite failing to qualify themselves.

Back to top button



Receive weekly FREE betting picks in your email