Celta Vigo Logo

RC Celta

  • Location: Vigo, Spain
  • Stadium: ABANCA Balaídos Stadium
  • Coach: Eduardo Coudet
  • La Liga Titles: 0

Current Squad / Roster


Spanish Second Tier Champion: 1991-1992 , 1981-1982 , 1935-1936

General Statistics 2022-2023

Matches Played


To Play









Goals Against

Team History

Real Club Celta de Vigo, known as Los/Os Celestes (The Sky Blues) among supporters, was founded in 1923 via a merger of two local teams in Vigo, Galicia. Today, the club shares a rivalry with the other Galician club Deportivo La Coruña. The two teams compete annually in the Galician derby. Celta Vigo plays its home games out of the 29,000-seat Estadio Municipal de Balaídos.

While Celta Vigo has never won La Liga or the Copa del Rey, it had a period of success in European competition in the late 1990s and early 2000s. The team garnered the nickname “EuroCelta” during this time as it reached the quarter-finals in back-to-back UEFA Cups, beating more accomplished and well-known teams like Liverpool and Juventus.

Unfortunately, this run was short-lived and Celta Vigo was out of the La Liga schedule for five seasons from 2007-08 to 2012-13. It has remained in La Liga since.

Key players during the EuroCelta era include Alexander Mostovoi, Haim Revivo, and  Alexander Mostovoi. The club’s all-time leader in goals is Iago Aspas, who was with the team from 2008 to 2013 and is still with Celta Vigo after returning in 2015.

RC Celta – Historical Events

The Euro Celta period was arguably the most important in Celta Vigo history as it showed the club could compete with some of the top teams in European football. Celta Vigo’s most recent best season came in 2016-17, when it participated in and reached the semifinal of the UEFA Europa League before losing 2-1 on aggregate to Manchester United.

Celta Records

  • Most Appearances: Manolo (432)
  • Most Goals: Iago Aspas (167)
  • Largest Victory: 10-1 vs. Gimnàstic (1949-50)
  • Most Goals in a Single Game: 10 vs. Gimnàstic (1949-50)

More about Real Club Celta

Celta Vigo hasn’t won La Liga, but it is a three-time champion in the Segunda División, having won in 1935-36, 1981-82, and 1991-92. It also won the Segunda División B in 1980-81 and Tercera División in 1930-31.

Unai Núñez (D) from Athletic Bilbao (loan)

Williot Swedberg (M) from Hammarby

Luca de la Torre (M) from Heracles Almelo

Óscar Rodríguez (M) from Sevilla FC (loan)

Julen Lobete (F) from Real Sociedad B

Rubén Blanco (G) to Marseille (loan)

José Fontán (D) to Go Ahead Eagles (loan)

Okay Yokuslu (D) to West Brom

Néstor Araújo (D) to CF América

Orbelín Pineda (M) to AEK Athens (loan)

Brais Méndez (F) to Real Sociedad

Emre Mor (F) to Karagümrük

Alfon González (F) to Racing Santander (loan)

Julen Lobete (F) to RKC Waalwijk (loan)

Argentinian Eduardo Berizzo was Celta Vigo’s manager during its impressive 2016-17 run in the UEFA Europa League, although he didn’t have much success domestically. Miguel Ángel Lotina was at the helm when Celta Vigo finished fourth in La Liga standings, its best-ever result.

Team Standings

Team Leaders


BetUS Banner IBD

BetUS Banner IBD