WRC Standings

Like standings in any other sport, WRC Standings show the placement of the World Rally Championship (WRC) drivers in the current season. In other words, the standings indicate how good the drivers have been, with those producing better results sitting higher up the ladder than the rest of the field.

The idea of standings in the World Rally Championship season is not unique to rally. On the contrary, it’s an integral part of any competition in the world that consists of several matches, events, or tournaments.

Importance of Standings for Bettors

As a bettor, you should use the standings as one of the tools to make WRC picks, but you should know that if the driver is placed at the top of the WRC standings, that doesn’t necessarily mean that he is the most likely to win the next race. There are many other factors to consider.

If you are checking out the WRC standings after just one race, the top driver isn’t automatically the best in the field but is rather just a driver who won the opening race of the season. The more races have passed, the more accurately will WRC standings show which drivers are actually the best.

Still, even though you should check the standings before placing your bet, there are other, more important things to consider when wagering on WRC. That includes the driver’s form, skill, and whether the driver has the tools to win the race you plan to bet on.

Learning how to bet on WRC and actually being successful at it requires a lot more than just checking the standings and picking the driver who sits at the top. Admittedly, though, that doesn’t mean you should completely ignore what the standings are showing.

How WRC season works

FIA World Rally Championship (WRC) is an auto racing competition recognized by the Fédération Internationale de l’Automobile (FIA) as the top class of international rallying. The season welcomes teams and crews who compete in cars complying with Groups Rally1 – Rally 5, differentiated by regulations, with the highest group featuring the fastest cars.

The season usually starts in January and concludes in November. The teams and drivers compete on rally tracks across all continents of the world, including Europe, Asia, and Australia, with races hosted by Sweden, Kenya, New Zealand, Japan, and many more countries.

The location and number of races differ from season to season, but the number is usually between 12 to 14 races. The events differ in the distance, the number of stages, and the surface – from gravel to snow, and tarmac, while others feature a mixed surface.

Drivers and teams score points based on their performance on each track of the season, which then count towards the World Rally Championships for Drivers, Co-drivers, Teams, and Manufacturers.

So even though rally is a unique motorsports competition, its season does not differ much from Formula One as far as scoring and the season format are concerned.

WRC Standings Frequently Asked Questions

Each WRC race awards Championship points for the top-10 drivers at the end of the event, for a total of 10. The winner collects 25 Championship points, the runner-up 18, and the third-placed driver 15. The remaining seven get 12, 10, 8, and so on, with each two less than the driver ahead of him.

Sébastien Loeb holds the record for the most WRC Championship titles, winning nine straight titles between 2004-2012. The second-most successful driver is Sebastien Ogier, who has won eight titles, including all but one between 2013-2021.

The only other drivers who won more than two WRC Drivers’ Championships are Juha Kankkunen (1986, 1987, 1991, 1993) and Tommi Mäkinen (1996, 1997, 1998, 1999), who won four apiece.

France and Finland are two of the most successful nations in WRC history, followed by the United Kingdom, Sweden, Italy, and Spain.

Back to top button



Receive weekly FREE betting picks in your email