FC Dallas

FC Dallas

  • Location: Frisco, Texas
  • Stadium: Toyota Stadium
  • Coach: Nico Estévez
  • MLS Titles: 0

Current Squad / Roster

Team History

FC Dallas was founded in 1995, entering MLS as a charter club in 1996, then known as Dallas Burn. FC Dallas switched monikers for the 2004 MLS season. The squad moved to Toyota Stadium to open the 2005 MLS Schedule

We’re going to run down all of the critical information on FC Dallas stats, history, and best coaches. FC Dallas may be the underdog on current MLS odds, however, past iterations of the squad produced entirely different FC Dallas betting odds and results.

FC Dallas Records

With a long history, FC Dallas’ team record holders all no longer play for the team. Jason Kries is FC Dallas’ stats record holder, scoring 99 goals for the squad from 1996 – 2004. Kries won the MLS Golden Boot in 1999 with 20 goals. Kries was named MVP of the 1999 season and was MLS’s leading goal scorer until Jaime Moreno surpassed his record in 2007. Kries is a bonafide FC Dallas/Dallas Burn hall of famer.

As of publication, FC Dallas has 9 wins, 9 draws, 7 losses, and a +7 goal differential in 2022.

Championships Won

Historical Events

In their first CONCACAF Champions League appearing in 2011-2012, FC Dallas became the first MLS team to win an away match in the Champions League against a Mexican team, defeating Mexican champions UNAM at Estadio Olímpico Universitario. 

FC Dallas earned their first double in 2016, winning the 2016 MLS Supporters Shield, as the team sitting atop the MLS standings at the end of the regular season, and U.S. Open Cup, earning the squad another trip to the CONCACAF Champions League.

Going back to their time as the Dallas Burn. FC Dallas played their first game on April 14, 1996, defeating the San Jose Clash in a shootout. The Dallas Burn won their first two games as a franchise in their inaugural season, finishing second in the Western Conference with 17 wins, 15 losses, and a +2 goal differential. Dallas FC was eliminated from the playoffs in the conference semi-finals by KC Wiz.

FC Dallas made it to the U.S. Open Cup final in 2005 and 2007, losing both games by a one-goal margin.

In 2010, FC Dallas was the last of the MLS charter teams to appear in the MLS Cup, losing to the Colorado Rapids on an own goal by George John. Despite this loss, midfielder David Ferreira was voted the league’s MVP and head coach Schellas Hyndman won the MLS Coach of the Year Award.

Championship Won by FC Dallas

FC Dallas has won the 2016 MLS Supporters Shield, and the 1997 and 2016 U.S. Open Cup. Their performance and first double championships in 2016 earned FC Dallas a spot in the CONCACAF Champions League for the second time.

FC Dallas has a few rivalry derbies. The Texas Derby is contested between Houston Dynamo for a working replica Civil War cannon called El Capitan. The Brimstone Cup is competed for between FC Dallas and the Chicago Fire due to their shared team name allusions to fire. Lamar Hunt was an investor in the Columbus Crew SC and FC Dallas, with both teams competing for the Lamar Hunt Pioneer Cup.

FC Dallas won the Copa Tejas Divison 1 in 2021 as the best MLS team in Texas. 

FC Dallas currently has three players out on loan: Justin Che (D), Nicky Hernandez (M), and Dante Sealy (F).

Three players have been transferred in and out of FC Dallas, with one player being transferred in and out. Sebastian Lletget was transferred in from the New England Revolution Players transferred to FC Dallas, while Nanu was returned to Porto FC of the Primeira Liga after being on loan for 2020-2021. 

Goaltender Maarten Paes was out on loan to Utrecht of Eredivisie and returned to FC Dallas, splitting time between both squads for the 2021-2022 season.

FC Dallas’ current head coach is Nico Estévez. Estévez has been FC Dallas’ Head coach since December 2, 2021, with his squad posting a record of 10 wins, 9 draws, and 8 losses and a +6 goal differential as of publication. With such a long history in MLS, FC Dallas has plenty of coaches to review before determining who has been FC Dallas’ best coaches.

Dave Dir served as FC Dallas’ head coach from 1995-2000. Dir was fired after 5 consecutive  playoff appearances. FC Dallas never getting past the conference finals likely contributed to Dir’s firing.

Dir was replaced by Mike Jeffries, who came to FC Dallas with a winning pedigree with Chicago Fire, having won 2 U.S. Open. Cups. Under Jeffries, FC Dallas returned to the playoffs after a two-year absence. However, the squad’s poor performance in 2003 led to Jeffries’ firing.

Jefferies was replaced by Colin Clark, who was named interim head coach. Clark was promoted to Head Coach in 2004. FC Dallas missed the playoffs in his first season. Despite finishing atop Western Conference in 2006, a second-consecutive playoff elimination at the hands of the Colorado Rapids led to Clark’s firing. 

Clark was replaced by Steve Morrow in 2006. For FC Dallas this was a story of a new coach, but the same result. FC Dallas was eliminated in the conference semi-finals for a third straight year in 2007.

Morrow was fired in May 2008. A contender for FC Dallas’ best coach emerged in Schellas Hyndman. Hyndman won the coach of the year award in 2010, leading FC Dallas to its first MLS Cup appearance. Hyndman resigned in 2013 after missing the playoffs. 

Hyndman was replaced by Óscar Pareja, the second contender for FC Dallas’ dest coach honor. Pareja was FC Dallas’ head coach from January 10, 2014 – to November 16, 2018. Pareja was at the helm when FC Dallas won their first double in 2016.

Pareja was replaced by Luchi Gonzalez, who was the squad’s head coach from December 16, 2018 – September 19, 2021. Gonzalez was replaced by current head coach Nico Estévez.

It’s a close race between Hyndman and Pareja for FC Dallas’ best coach, but we’re giving the award to Óscar Pareja, primarily for FC Dallas’ remarkable 2016 campaign.

Team Standings

Team Leaders


BetUS Banner IBD

BetUS Banner IBD