Nebraska Cornhuskers


Nebraska Cornhuskers Insiders

Nebraska Cornhuskers

Team Leaders

Nebraska Cornhuskers News 

The University of Nebraska football team is a Division I FBS football program in Lincoln, Nebraska. The school is a part of the Western Division in the Big Ten conference. The Cornhuskers have been a member of the Big Ten since 2011.

Before the Big Ten, Nebraska was in the Big 12 and spent a large portion of their football history as a member of the Big Eight. Nebraska currently ranks eighth amongst FBS schools in the total number of wins. Nebraska currently has 25 players in the College Football Hall of Fame.

Nebraska has been known as the Cornhuskers since 1900. A journalist named Cy Sherman began referring to the team as the Cornhuskers in his editorials. Before Cornhuskers, Nebraska had the nickname of Bugeaters. Cornhuskers caught on very quickly and would eventually become the nickname of the whole state.

Nebraska Cornhuskers Standings

The Nebraska Cornhuskers are in the middle of the pack in the NCAAF standings, but their stats suggest they are a team on the rise.

With a solid defense and an improving offense, they have the potential to make a big push in the second half of the season. They will be a team to watch as the season progresses and they look to move up the standings.

Nebraska Cornhuskers Betting Trends

Recent Nebraska History

Since 2016, Nebraska has had five consecutive losing seasons. One of the most storied college football programs in history, they have been on quite the decline. From 1969 to 2016, there were only two years that Nebraska did not compete in a bowl game. They have not been bowl-eligible since that run.

Scott Frost took over head coaching duties in 2018 and is inevitably considered to be in the hot seat this year. While there was an understandable grace period given for success, allowing Frost to get his first few recruiting classes in, he has yet to show that he can get this program turned around.

Since 2017, Nebraska has only had six players selected in the NFL draft. While this may seem like a solid number, in comparison to years past, the team has been on the decline. An example of this would be the draft class of 2015 and 2016, where Nebraska saw seven players taken in the draft.

Key Players in History

Pat Fischer was drafted in 1961 to the St. Louis Cardinals, where he played seven seasons. He would go on to play ten seasons for the Washington Redskins as well. Fischer was a three-time pro bowler.

Irving Fryar was drafted in the first round of the 1984 draft to the New England Patriots. After nine seasons with the Patriots, he has stints with the Dolphins, Eagles, and Redskins. Fryar recorded five seasons of over 1,000 receiving yards and a single season with double-digit touchdowns. He was selected to the pro bowl five times.

Offensive lineman Will Shields was a third-round draft choice by the Kansas City Chiefs in 1993. He played 14 seasons with the Chiefs and is widely regarded as one of the best offensive linemen in the Chiefs’ history. He was selected to 12 pro bowls in 14 seasons.

Running back, Roger Craig was drafted in 1983 in the second round to the San Francisco 49ers. Craig played eight seasons with the 49ers and finished his season with very short stints in Oakland and Minnesota. Craig was a member of three super bowl winning 49ers teams.

Key Championships

Nebraska has won 10 divisions championships as well as 46 conference championships. Their first claimed conference championship dates back to 1894. That year the team competed in the Western Interstate University Football Association and had a 2-1 conference record to claim the title.

Nebraska competed in the Big 12 conference for 14 seasons. They were conference champions twice, 1997 and 1999. Before the Big 12, Nebraska competed in the Big Eight from 1960-1995. In those 35 years, Nebraska won the conference title 20 times.

The team won back-to-back National Championships in 1970 and 1971. The combined record for those two teams was 24-0-1. IN 1970, Nebraska defeated LSU in the Orange Bowl 17-12. In 1971 Nebraska was by far the best team in college football, winning the Orange Bowl against Alabama by 38-6.

The 1990s was another dominant decade for Nebraska. The Cornhuskers won the National Championship three times, in 1994, 1995, and 1997. The 1995 team, coached by Tom Osborne, is the best football team of that decade, going 12-0 and defeating Florida in the National Championship game 62-24.

Conference Outlook

As stated previously, the Scott Frost era is off to a rough start, and competing in the Big Ten has not helped the team whatsoever. The offense has not been up to speed with the rest of the conference, making it nearly impossible to be competitive.

The defense was not bad last year, giving up under 30 points per game. They do return quite a few starters, which could help with their overall leadership. The real problem this team has is no matter how good the defense plays; the offense has to be able to put up points.

Nebraska looks to finish a mid-tier Big Ten team. They will be better than the bottom of the conference teams like Northwestern and Rutgers but will not compete with the top-tier teams like Iowa, Ohio State, and Michigan.

Coaching History

Nebraska currently has six previous head coaches inducted into the College Football Hall of Fame.

Bob Devaney was the head football coach at Nebraska from 1962-1972. In Devaney’s first season as coach, he led Nebraska to a 9-2 record, after a 1961 season which saw the Cornhuskers have a 3-6-1 record. Devaney finished his coaching career at Nebraska with a 101-20-2 record.

Devaney was the head coach of the National Championship teams in 1970 and 1971. He finished with nine bowl appearances and two National Championships. He also won or shared eight Big Eight conference championships.

Tom Osborne is the longest-tenured coach in Nebraska football history, coaching the team from 1973 to 1997. One of Osborne’s claims to fame is that he started the I-formation. When he retired in 1997, he had accumulated a 255-49-3 record. He currently ranks sixth in winning percentage amongst college coaches with an 83% win rate.

Osborne is also top 10 amongst college coaches when it comes to total wins. Osborne is by far the winningest coach in Nebraska history. He has 13 conference championships to go along with three National Championships. He coached 53 All-Americans in his time with Nebraska.


Cornhuskers Recent Trend

Next Game


Team Stats

Frequently Asked Questions

Where does Nebraska play their home games?

Located on campus, Nebraska plays its home games at Memorial Stadium.

What is Nebraska’s bowl record?

Nebraska has played in 53 bowl games and has a record of 26-27.

What is Nebraska’s all-time record?


How many numbers has Nebraska retired?

Nebraska has retired 17 numbers, with the most recent in 2009.

How many professional players played at Nebraska?

There have been 379 players drafted from the University of Nebraska.

Latest NCAAF News

BetUS Banner IBD

BetUS Banner IBD