5 Footballisback 970x70 Join Gif
01 480x320 Join Gif


MVP Countdown

The Awards Arrived

There are some big awards handed out to players at the end of every NFL season, but odds to win NFL MVP iis the biggest award available. It takes exceptional play and a clean bill of health to be named MVP of the NFL.

This award is typically handed out to the best quarterback in the league, and the top four betting favorites all play that position. The NFL MVP odds change after every single game, and they can change in a big way. 

It’s not impossible for a running back or wide receiver to take home this award, but they have to do something special. Team success also seems to have an impact on the NFL MVP race as the winner usually comes from one of the best teams in the league.


The NFL MVP odds have been changing throughout the 2022 NFL season, and they are starting to tighten up with just one week to go. The list has also continued to get shorter as some of the favorites are starting to break away from the pack. 

2022 NFL MVP Odds  

Betting on the 2022 NFL MVP winner is still open, even though the ballots have already been turned in. Playoff stats don’t matter when it comes to winning this award, but you can still bet on which player you think will ultimately be handed the award. 

Here are the current odds to win the 2022 NFL MVP Award now that the entire regular season has been completed. 

Patrick Mahomes -1600

There can always be some surprises when the NFL MVP Award winner is announced, but it’s pretty clear that Patrick Mahomes is the betting favorite. Mahomes guided the Kansas City Chiefs to the best record in the AFC and finished the regular season with 5,250 passing yards and 41 touchdowns. 

Joe Burrow +900

Joe Burrow got off to a slow start in 2022, but he ended the year in a big way, and he now looks like the biggest threat to Patrick Mahomes. Burrow threw for 4,45 yards and 35 touchdowns, and he got the Cincinnati Bengals to another NFC North Division title. 

Jalen Hurts +1500

If Jalen Hurts didn’t get injured near the end of the regular season, he likely would have remained the favorite to win the MVP Award. There was a point in the year when Hurts was the clear favorite, but he was passed while sitting on the sidelines with injury. 

You can get Hurts at +1500, and that’s a ton of value if you believe that voters will still give him credit for what he did before his injury. 

Josh Allen +1500

Josh Allen entered the season as the betting favorite to win the NFL MVP Award, but he just wasn’t consistent enough throughout the year. Allen could still guide the Buffalo Bills to an AFC East title, and he did so by running and throwing the football effectively.

NFL MVP Betting Trends

  • On December 13, Jalen Hurts was the favorite to win the NFL MVP Award. His odds have dropped since he has missed two games with an injury. 
  • Patrick Mahomes went from +200 on December 13 to -500. Mahomes and the Chiefs have continued to win, and he moved up with the injury to Hurts.
  • Justin Jefferson is the first non-quarterback on the board at +5000. Jefferson is putting up historically great stats, but he is still a massive underdog to win the award. 

Last 10 NFL MVP Winners 

  • 2021: Aaron Rodgers (Quarterback)- Green Bay Packers
  • 2020: Aaron Rodgers (Quarterback)- Green Bay Packers
  • 2019: Lamar Jackson (Quarterback)- Baltimore Ravens
  • 2018: Patrick Mahomes (Quarterback)- Kansas City Chiefs
  • 2017: Tom Brady (Quarterback)- New England Patriots
  • 2016: Matt Ryan (Quarterback)- Atlanta Falcons
  • 2015: Cam Newton (Quarterback)- Carolina Panthers
  • 2014: Aaron Rodgerse (Quarterback)- Green Bay Packers
  • 2013: Peyton Manning (Quarterback)- Denver Broncos
  • 2012: Adrian Peterson (Running Back)- Minnesota Vikings

NFL MVP Betting Tips

The time in which you are going to find the most value when betting on the NFL MVP Award is at the beginning of the season. This is also going to make it hard to predict the NFL MVP odds 2022 as injuries can end up having a big impact. 

The best NFL MVP betting tip is to place a small wager on a handful of players. You should also be looking to hedge your bets during the season as your preseason picks might fade quickly. 

Betting on a player outside of the quarterback position is not usually a smart move either, even if you see some potentially big payouts based on the odds. This award is typically given to a QB. 

NFL MVP Future Bets Explained

Futures betting is a solid betting option, and it’s one that typically comes with a ton of value in the odds. Futures betting odds come out months before the season begins, and those odds then start to change as the games are played.

When it comes to NFL MVP future betting, you will see a list of about 100 players to begin the season. That list will be updated throughout the year, and there will only be a short list of players by the end of the year. 

There is no limit to the number of NFL MVP future bets that you can make, and they can be made at anytime until the winner is announced. 


The NFL MVP Award is chosen by a collection of voters from the Associated Press. Those votes are then tallied and a winner is announced at the conclusion of the NFL season.

Peyton Manning has won five AP NFL MVP Awards, which is more than any other player in league history. Aaron Rodgers has won this award four times, and he is the only player that has gotten more than three besides Manning.

Running back Adrian Peterson was the last non-quarterback to be chosen as the NFL MVP. Peterson won this award in 2012 as a member of the Minnesota Vikings. 

The NFL MVP odds are typically released after the conclusion of the NFL Draft every year in April. The opening lines are going to remain in place until the start of the season, unless there are significant injuries.

The Green Bay Packers have had the NFL MVP Award winner 10 times, which is most of any team in the league.

Back to top button



Receive weekly FREE betting picks in your email