Atletic Bilbao

Athletic Bilbao

  • Location: Bilbao, Spain
  • Stadium: San Mamés Stadium
  • Coach: Ernesto Valverde
  • La Liga Titles: 8

Current Squad / Roster


La Liga Titles: 1929-30, 1930–31, 1933–34, 1935–36, 1942–43, 1955–56, 1982–83, 1983–84

Spanish Super Cup: 2020-21 , 2015-16 , 1984-85

Copa del Rey: 1983-84 , 1972-73 , 1968-69 , 1957-58 , 1955-56 , 1954-55 , 1949-50 , 1944-45 , 1943-44 , 1942-43 , 1932-33 , 1931-32 , 1930-31 , 1929-30 , 1922-23 , 1920-21 , 1915-16 , 1914-15 , 1913-14 , 1910-11 , 1909-10 , 1903-04 , 1902-03 , 1901-02

General Statistics 2022-2023

Matches Played


To Play









Goals Against

Team History

One of only three clubs to stay in the top division of La Liga standings since its inception, Athletic Bilbao stats was founded in 1898 and ranks fourth among all clubs with eight La Liga titles. It is also one of only four clubs owned by members, along with Barcelona, Real Madrid, and Osasuna.

Athletic Bilbao’s main betting rivals are Real Sociedad, Real Madrid, and Barcelona. It competes against Real Sociedad in the Basque derby. Unlike many other La Liga clubs that bring in many international players, Athletic Bilbao has a policy in which it develops Basque players and recruits Basque players from other clubs. It was one of only two clubs in Europe without foreign players in the 2020-21 season.

While this policy, known as “Cantera,” should theoretically limit Athletic Bilbao, the club has nonetheless won eight La Liga titles with strictly homegrown players. However, this rule does not apply to its managerial staff.

Athletic Bilbao – Historical Events

Athletic Bilbao finished the 1929-30 season unbeaten through 18 games and, the following season, scored the largest-ever La Liga stats victory with a 12-1 win over rival Barcelona. It also defeated Celta Vigo 12-1 in the Copa del Rey in 1947 and owns the record for the largest margin of victory in that tournament.

Its best-ever result in the UEFA Champions League was a quarter-final finish in 1956-57, while it was runners-up in the UEFA Europa League in 1976-77 and 2011-12.

Athletic Records

  • Most Appearances: José Ángel Iribar (614)
  • Most Goals: Telmo Zarra (367)
  • Largest Victory: 12-1 vs. Barcelona (1930-31)
  • Most Goals in a Single Game: 12 vs. Barcelona (1930-31)

More Records By the Team

Athletic Bilbao won its first La Liga title in 1929-30 following its unbeaten season. It has since won the title in 1930–31, 1933–34, 1935–36, 1942–43, 1955–56, 1982–83, and 1983–84. However, it has only finished among the top five clubs five times since the 1986-87 season.

Athletic Bilbao ranks second all-time with 23 Copa del Rey titles, but hasn’t won the tournament since 1983-84. Its most recent domestic tournament victory was in 2020-21, when it won the Supercopa de España.

Gorka Guruzeta (F) from SD Amorebieta
Jokin Ezkieta (G) to Racing Santander
Unai Núñez (D) to Celta de Vigo (loan)
Imanol García de Albéniz (D) to SD Eibar (loan)
Unai López (M) to Rayo Vallecano
Beñat Prados (M) to CD Mirandés (loan)
Iñigo Córdoba (F) to Fortuna Sittard
Iñigo Vicente (F) to Racing Santander
Juan Artola (F) to Burgos CF (loan)

Javier Clemente was the last great manager for Athletic Bilbao. He managed the team from 1981 to 1986 and led it to two La Liga titles, one Copa del Rey title, and one Supercopa de España title.

Fred Pentland, manager of the team when it joined La Liga in 1929 until 1933, guided Athletic Bilbao to a pair of La Liga titles as well as four Copa del Rey championships.

Team Standings

Team Leaders


BetUS Banner IBD

BetUS Banner IBD